Ruysdael Kwartet

Photo : Eduardus Lee

Ruysdael Kwartet

Joris van Rijn (violin)
Emi Ohi Resnick (violin)
Gijs Kramers (viola)
Michael Müller (cello)

Inspired by the famous Dutch painter Jacob van Ruysdael, known for his impressive landscapes and dramatic skies, the Ruysdael Quartet has become renowned for its intensive playing and nuanced sound palette.

The Ruysdael Quartet was formed in 1996, when all members were studying at the Conservatory in The Hague. In addition to their regular teachers they had lessons with the Amadeus Quartet, the Hagen Quartet and the Quatuor Mosaïques. Over a two-year period, they studied with the Alban Berg Quartet at the “Hochschule für Musik” in Cologne. Within a few years the Ruysdael Quartet established its name both in the Netherlands and abroad, and has ever since been regularly invited to take part in festivals and masterclasses, resulting in performances not only in Europe but also in the USA, Japan and Australia.