Selected by: Dvořák & Mendelssohn

with Quatuor Hanson

17:00 / Thur 3 Febr / Muziekgebouw Main Hall / € 28

Core Repertoire    Rising Stars   

Quatuor Hanson

Anton Hanson (violin)
Jules Dussap (violin)
Gabrielle Lafait (viola)
Simon Dechambre (cello)


String quartet no. 8, op. 80


String quartet no. 3, op. 44/1

NB This programme has been changed.

In this program, Mendelssohn sounds more like Dvořák and Dvořák seems more like Mendelssohn. While we usually know Dvořák as jumpy and frivolous, we often look at Mendelssohn’s string quartets as dark and stormy. In fact, both works in this programme are therefore uncharacteristic for their composers. Mendelssohn wrote this radiant quartet as the last of a set of three, but published it first — it seems, and you can almost feel it in the music, as if Mendelssohn was extra proud of this quartet. The music is cheerful and sometimes almost dances with joy. More than in his other works, Dvořák shows melancholy and nostalgia — although his opus 80 is in E major, a large part of the time it sounds as a minor key.


The Selected by. Two major works — side by side, opposite each other; in connection with each other or in contrast. Any periods, styles, sounds and colours of the string quartet in one hour.