Selected by

with Ragazze Quartet

17:00 / Tues 30 Jan. / Grote Zaal Muziekgebouw / € 25,00

2024    Première    Selected by    Tue 30 Jan   
Ragazze Quartet
Photo : Paulina Matusiak & Eddy Wenting

Ragazze Quartet

Rosa Arnold (violin)
Jeanita Vriens-van Tongeren (violin)
Annemijn Bergkotte (viola)
Rebecca Wise (cello)

Felix Mendelssohn

String Quartet no. 6

Seung-Won Oh

Elegy in Me (World premiere)

When his beloved sister Fanny Mendelssohn died in 1847, Felix took time for himself in Switzerland to process this loss. There, he painted, went on mountain hikes, and composed his Sixth String Quartet. It would be one of his last completed works, as he died in the same year as his sister. Fanny was not allowed to pursue a career as a composer despite her talent, but nowadays, women composers are no longer a rarity. Her colleague Seung-Won Oh wrote a new string quartet titled Elegy in Me for the Ragazze Quartet.

The Selected by series offers great works – alongside each other, in connection or contrast with each other. In an hour, you will hear the string quartet in its entirety: all times, styles, sounds, and colors.

Order tickets

Related programmes


14:15 uur